APDL 8.3 Released, now only $99/year

Learn more
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Status Board order?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    220

    Status Board order?

    I know it's just an issue of my cheese moving but I don't love the order of the Status Board now. I used to be able to arrange all entries to my liking. Now they are in groups, and some entries can't be moved at all within a group (current leg). Is that the final answer? Can we change it back to allow all entries to be moved anywhere? I really like the commute info on there, but it's not handy on the first leg of a 3 day trip, and now that's in the top group. I would also rather the trip route map be all the way at the bottom? I don't seed the advantage to locking them in distinct groups...




    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    12,417
    We are just about to release to the App Store but I'm going to ask devs to review this. I don't like moving your cheese or forcing you into "our" way (a devs way) when it's not necessary. Thanks for your feedback.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    220

    Status Board order?

    I had gotten used to looking for the city pair to tap to enter the times (STL-PHX), and now the commute line (MDW-OMA) is higher, bolded, and catches your eye more than the current leg. Just seems a little bad from a human factors perspective to have the commute leg higher than the current leg on every flight.

    You know pilots, and how they like change. I can't be the only one?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by ibrubeer; 11-25-2018 at 8:31 PM.

  4. #4
    diedrichg is offline APDL Beta Team
    Republic Airlines
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,461
    Agreed. I would want to move any of them as I wish.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    12,417
    We'll have another beta coming out very soon with a new Settings > Status Board option to allow you more control in this situation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    12,417
    We should have a new public beta out today if our internal tests all went well. I look forward to feedback on the new Settings > Status Board feature.

  7. #7
    diedrichg is offline APDL Beta Team
    Republic Airlines
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,461
    All settings function as expected including reset.

    I like the sectioning. I think I prefer my view with sectioning and headers, this keeps things organized and guides your eyes to a specific section.

    General: Hotel and Hotel Departure widgets seem to be redundant? I didn't understand what the HH:mm meant to the right of the ORD Hotel.

    Leg: Gate Info. That's great for y'all passenger ops people, but for the cargo slum it's wasted space... UNTIL I need it for a deadhead on a passenger airline. Therefore, it would be helpful to have a widget that shows up only when there is a deadhead on an airline with gate info.

    The previous idea then brings up another suggestion. For those who use the commute function, it would be helpful to show a widget with the commute gate info. The user could select the preferred flight to be viewed when searching through the commute screen. This of course would require an expiration time so that the flight doesn't persist.

    Speaking of commute, I switched on commute, how do I switch it off and how do I change the default airport?

  8. #8
    diedrichg is offline APDL Beta Team
    Republic Airlines
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,461
    Edit: I now see that the commute widget is available. Cool. But it's showing my commute that is 5 days in the future...

    But I also have two widgets. One displaying my default airport with no flights selected and another showing a different airport that I was searching.

  9. #9
    AJNegron's Avatar
    AJNegron is offline APDL Beta Team
    ExpressJet Airlines
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    PTC, GA
    Posts
    960

    Status Board order?

    Quote Originally Posted by diedrichg View Post
    Edit: I now see that the commute widget is available. Cool. But it's showing my commute that is 5 days in the future...

    But I also have two widgets. One displaying my default airport with no flights selected and another showing a different airport that I was searching.
    Commute defaults are located under Settings-Airline.

    There are two widgets: To and Home.

    Only Domicile and Home airports should show in the widgets. Anything else (random airport you searched for) should be investigated.
    iPhone X /64GB, iOS {Whatever is current}
    =======
    “There are only two industries that refer to their customers as ‘users’.”
    (Edward Tufte)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    220

    Status Board order?

    I like the sections on the Status Board now. Much easier to read. Thank you!

    My only other comment is for the commute widgets. I'm in between trips now (off duty), so both commutes show up. I expect that will be true on overnights too. Is there a way to make 1 commute stand apart more from the other? Maybe "Commute Start OMA-MDW" and "COMMUTE END MDW-OMA"? Not sure if there's enough room on a phone for that much text. Easy to look quickly and see the wrong one.

    I believe that the hotel departure line is hh:mm until the departure time that you set to leave the hotel.

    Also, if I remember correctly, I thought the gate does show up on the commute widget if known?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by ibrubeer; 11-30-2018 at 5:54 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. [Logged] Status board, incorrect status
    By ibrubeer in forum APDL Sales & Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-30-2015, 10:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

sitemap Site Map