APDL 8.3 Released, now only $99/year

Learn more
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mapping aircraft model numbers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    5

    Mapping aircraft model numbers

    I export from Skedplus and into Logbook Pro. Skedplus labels the aircraft models as CRJ, CR7, and CR9 instead of the actual model names such as CL600-2B19. Is there a way for Logbook Pro to see the CRJ and map it to the CL600-2B19 aircraft that I set up in Options?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wilson, NC
    Posts
    2,660
    No, but you can omit the aircraft type from the import during the last step of the desktop import wizard and enter in your chosen format.
    Andy Adams
    Delta A320 First Officer
    Support Engineer
    APDL Documentation Team Lead
    NC Software, Inc.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    5
    Yea I already have to manually edit it. Was looking for an automated way to save time.

    Thanks though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wilson, NC
    Posts
    2,660

    Mapping aircraft model numbers

    If you want to get fancy, you could open the file from your company in a spreadsheet. Find all the types matching CR7 for example, and replace them with the type designation you prefer. Repeat until you have all of your types covered (3 times it looks like) and then import to Logbook Pro.

    To be clear, I’m referring to “find and replace all”. A single action to change all the matches in the file. Not editing each one one at a time.
    Andy Adams
    Delta A320 First Officer
    Support Engineer
    APDL Documentation Team Lead
    NC Software, Inc.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    12,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Ace007 View Post
    I export from Skedplus and into Logbook Pro. Skedplus labels the aircraft models as CRJ, CR7, and CR9 instead of the actual model names such as CL600-2B19. Is there a way for Logbook Pro to see the CRJ and map it to the CL600-2B19 aircraft that I set up in Options?
    Logbook Pro looks for the tail numbers and if it's a match it will pull the type that you previous logged. So if you want to fight with it a while and correct the types it will eventually dwindle down, otherwise as Andy suggested.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Neal Culiner View Post
    Logbook Pro looks for the tail numbers and if it's a match it will pull the type that you previous logged. So if you want to fight with it a while and correct the types it will eventually dwindle down, otherwise as Andy suggested.
    That's what I have been doing - search and replace in Excel and then save out and import into Desktop.

    I'm thinking of buying Mobile and the Schedule Importer. It sounds like I can download all my trips for the month at the beginning of the month, import them into Mobile and then add info to the trips as I fly them. Then they sync to the Desktop. So how do I replace the A/C type in this process?

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    12,156
    In that process you set the correct type when flown as it should be configured in Logbook Pro Desktop Options > Aircraft so it's available from the picker.

Similar Threads

  1. Aircraft model & registration #
    By Sericcio in forum Logbook Pro Mobile Sales & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2012, 3:30 PM
  2. SkyWest aircraft numbers
    By Longboarder29 in forum APDL Sales & Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 9:45 PM
  3. Adding Aircraft Model and Sub-Model types?
    By RGreenfield in forum Logbook Pro Desktop Edition Suggestions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 4:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

sitemap Site Map