Importing APDL files

Cory Wolf

Although I've been using APDL for the last 6 years, I just recently bought Logbook Pro. I'm having trouble figuring out how to transfer my old files into Logbook Pro. Anyone out there that could lend a hand, it would be appreciated. I orginally had a Palm, then a Clie, and now a Dell Axim. When I look in my archive file for the last couple of years, all I am finding are .ddd files, which the importer doesn't recognize. Anyway, any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Cory

Hello Cory,

First ensure you are using the latest versions of both APDL and Logbook Pro here. SingleSync is phased out, if it is installed on your PC, it must be uninstalled. You'll then need to activate BOTH your Logbook Pro PC Edition license and APDL v6 license within Logbook Pro. You can bring up the activation dialog by clicking the PDA menu, then register licenses menu option below. Once you have activated your APDL v6 license within Logbook Pro, it will enable you to move to the next step off the first page of the PDA Wizard, which you'll select "APDL Pocket PC Edition." You can set the appropriate preferences and date filter on this APDL configuration page. Once you are caught up, the date filter should be left with the default of "New APDL Flights" as it knows the last APDL flight that was brought into Logbook Pro. During the Sync process it will also check that your Pocket PC is version 6 and registered, so make sure that is done prior to starting the PDA Wizard.

That's all there is to it. The PDA Wizard provides you much greater flexibility and is much more reliable than the previous SingleSync software.

Let me know if you have any further questions.

Neal,

Thanks for you post. I was able to figure out the PDA wizard while just poking around. I also found somewhere that the single sync had been phased out. I had never used it. Here is what I have done and what I still need help with.