• Shop our Memorial Day Sale Event now through Monday May 27th midnight eastern (UTC-4) and take 15% off your order by applying coupon code MD19 at checkout. Visit nc-software.com to shop now. Renew subscriptions at any time as they will auto add based on your current expiration.
  • APDL - Airline Pilot Logbook version 9.1 is now available on the Apple App Store. Click here for details of what's new in this release. Major new features include Default Rest Facility, ATC Flight Planned Routes and Notifications of route changes, EDCT Status Board Widget, and more...

Resolved Duty status

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Also a bug from the previous market version. When I open up the app, it does not reflect that I have already blocked out. In fact, app always opens up in white "on duty" tab, regardless of actual status. If I select another tab, it appears to wake-up and color tabs appropriately.

 

Neal Culiner

Founder, President
Staff member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
12,491
Location
VA
Confirm when you're done using APDL you simply press the home button below the screen and never remove it from suspended state forcing it to cold launch every time?
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Generally, I don't do it that way, but I never really paid much attention to WHAT I do. I do always switch to another app, generally the Jepps app. I think I sometimes hit the home button after use, and other times I double pump the home button and select the Jepps app. I never swipe it out of memory though.

Just now I opened APDL (it still showed white "on duty"), hit home button, opened Tapatalk, double tapped the home button & opened up APDL, and it still opened up to the white "on duty" tab. I should be off duty.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Steve Hayne

Support Engineer
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
392
Location
Ohio
On the first screenshot, had you entered an OUT time for that flight? APDL won't automatically block you out, it needs to be done by autofill or manually.
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Yes, that screenshot was taken in-flight I believe, with out/off times entered. Out was 0+28 prior.
 

Steve Hayne

Support Engineer
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
392
Location
Ohio
I took a look at your data and everything seemed to work fine on my end. I entered an out time for your flight this morning and went to the status page and it showed blocked out as it should. Under your iOS settings for date and time do you have it set to automatic? If so which time zone is showing?
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Date and time is not set to automatic, but Central time. I'm not sure why that would matter?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Steve Hayne

Support Engineer
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
392
Location
Ohio
Not sure either but try it in automatic and see if that changes anything.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
I'll give it a try on this leg then...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Nope! Did not make a difference. Entered an OUT time, and even switching to another section (like calender or schedule) and then back to status board, it still comes up on a white "on duty" status.

Anything else I can do you help troubleshoot?
 

Neal Culiner

Founder, President
Staff member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
12,491
Location
VA
After changing your device to automatic time remove APDL from suspended by pressing the Home button below the screen twice and then slide APDL up and off the screen. Cold launch APDL and see how things go with the automatic time setting.
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
That didn't work either. I waited maybe 15 seconds after opening up APDL to see if it would register, but it still started on the white "on duty" tab, even though I am off duty. Diane seem to mange a difference. Any other ideas?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Neal Culiner

Founder, President
Staff member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
12,491
Location
VA
Dennis,

I assume you only have one iOS device? Curious if you could try on another if available...

Please send a screenshot of your iOS Settings > General > Date & Time screen
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Sorry, I have an iPad Air running 9.3.1. Unfortunately, that is my only Apple device. I'm more of an Android guy...




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Neal Culiner

Founder, President
Staff member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
12,491
Location
VA
This is a scenario we'll have to test but my hunch is iOS doesn't know when UTC is in this condition and even more so it could affect other areas such as sync if this is true. I would recommend leaving it in "Set Automatically" and after doing so remove APDL from suspended, power cycle your iPad while connected to the Internet, cold launch APDL and let it go like this for a week and see what happens. Again, this is unknown territory and I'm not sure of the ramifications of this situation. Kudos to Steve for figuring this out....we'll see if we can figure out the Status Board issue as it relates.
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Ok. I'll give that a shot today and see what happens. Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Didn't make any difference on the first leg today...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

ibrubeer

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
228
Just touching base on this again. Still always comes up a status "on duty" for me. Any other ideas?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
 

Neal Culiner

Founder, President
Staff member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
12,491
Location
VA
No change. Sorry. We may stumble on it during continued work so keep monitoring as we push more updates.
 
Top