Error -530 when backing up

jensk

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2001
Messages
7
I receive an error -530 when attempting a backup. I've tried to "repair" the installation as suggested in another thread. But the repair stops at "Removing Backup Files". The program seems to work ok otherwise, I just can't make a backup.

Any Ideas? I'm using 1.9.8.5
 

Neal Culiner

Founder, President
Staff member
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
12,574
Location
VA
jensk said:
I receive an error -530 when attempting a backup. I've tried to "repair" the installation as suggested in another thread. But the repair stops at "Removing Backup Files". The program seems to work ok otherwise, I just can't make a backup.

Any Ideas? I'm using 1.9.8.5
Hello,

Typically this is caused by a conflict from another software application installing the same components without adhering to versioning. If you can uninstall, reboot, reinstall, that should resolve the issue. We should also have 1.9.9 beta out next week, which should also take care of this situation at the same time. If you are unable to uninstall after rebooting (give that a try), google for "Windows Installer Cleanup Utility" and try that to forcibly remove Logbook Pro, then reinstall 1.9.8.5 (or wait for 1.9.9).
 

jensk

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2001
Messages
7
NC Software said:
Hello,

Typically this is caused by a conflict from another software application installing the same components without adhering to versioning. If you can uninstall, reboot, reinstall, that should resolve the issue. We should also have 1.9.9 beta out next week, which should also take care of this situation at the same time. If you are unable to uninstall after rebooting (give that a try), google for "Windows Installer Cleanup Utility" and try that to forcibly remove Logbook Pro, then reinstall 1.9.8.5 (or wait for 1.9.9).
I tried reinstalling LBPro (with the same results...), I'll give the cleanup utility a try.

Thanks!
 

jensk

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2001
Messages
7
jensk said:
I tried reinstalling LBPro (with the same results...), I'll give the cleanup utility a try.

Thanks!
The Cleanup utility did the job, I could successfully reinstall 1.9.8.5 and the backup works now.

Thanks again!
 

Eric Addis

Senior Support Engineer
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2003
Messages
828
Location
DTW
Are you saving the file to a local hard drive? If not, save the backup file to your hard drive and then copy it to the removable media of your choice. If the problem continues please submit a support ticket.
 

huncowboy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
13
Location
Florida
Are you saving the file to a local hard drive? If not, save the backup file to your hard drive and then copy it to the removable media of your choice. If the problem continues please submit a support ticket.
It is saved to a local HD. I will submit a ticket.
 
Top